The end draws near…

…at least that of 2008! Another year full of highlights and epic moments, not only in gaming. Let me use this post to look back on what happened in 2008, and how I experienced it. Also, I will take a look at what is to come in 2009. So, put away the fireworks and champagne, and read on!

Personal highlights

  • Meeting my sweet and fluffy raccoon, Eva. Okay, actually we met in 2007, but things got interesting in 2008. So I just count it as a highlight in 2008 😉 Anyways: you rock my world!
  • Mom had her 50th birthday, and now officially is “old”. But you shouldn’t tell her that in the face 😉
  • Two good friends of mine recovered from a very bad “state of mind”, and are now doing their best to stay strong and tall in a harsh and cruel world. You go, ladies!
  • Having the honor of still being in touch with people who made me who I am. To all of you: thanks for everything. You rock!

Role-playing highlights

  • Storytelling a really cool Vampire: the Requiem chronicle. I waited quite a while to play with this cool new system and setting, and as far as I can tell, my players enjoyed it. The end of the chronicle was to most of them quite surprising, in a very good way. Requiem is on my “play again”-list after this funny experience.
  • The release of D&D 4th Edition, and all the whine that it conjured. Seriously people, get over it! Nobody forces you to convert your 3.5 Forgotten Realms chronicle to 4th Edition. Wizards of the Coast is not the Gestapo, for the love of Mordenkainen…
  • The death of Gary Gygax, the father of tabletop role-playing. I wouldn’t call this a “highlight”, but I had to list it. Mr. Gygax, I salute you for creating my favorite hobby. Rest in peace…
  • Discovering how awesome “Call of Cthulhu” is. I think my troupe will “enjoy” a one-shot or two in 2009…

Gaming highlights

  • Finally got into “serious” raiding in World of Warcraft, and discovered how terrible funny it is. What was I doing the last 3,5 years?!
  • Wrath of the Lich King went live, and robbed me of many hours of sleep. However, I’m still enjoying it, even though Blizzard is walking a very dangerous path with their new “casual-friendly philosophy”. Be careful there…
  • Far Cry 2 was the first shooter since quite some time that knew how to fascinate me for a few hours. Breathtaking graphics, and free-roaming gameplay is just what I need. And it is set in Africa! Beat that, you boring World War 2 fragfests!
  • Super Smash Bros. Brawl is the best beat ’em up for parties. Ever. Trust me.

Sooo…these are my highlights of the last twelve months. But what am I waiting / hoping for in 2009? Well, let’s make a small list, and through the coming year I will keep you updated about how many of these things came to be 😉

  • Many good role-playing books will make their appearance in 2009. Just a few: World of Darkness – Inferno, Shadows in the Dark: Mekhet, and probably lots of other stuff!
  • The X-Men spin-off “X-Men Origins: Wolverine” comes to the cinemas on May 1st. I hope that they will NOT screw this one up! Hugh Jackman, please make this movie awesome!
  • Also, I will do my best to be a good officer of the casual raiding guild Invictus Sceptrum (Horde on EU Moonglade). Because, ya know, most of those wicked, crazy and somehow disturbing people are quite lovely 🙂
  • And finally, I hope that 2009 brings no great sadness and darkness to the lives of my family, my friends and me. But even if the tide turns, I know that they all would rather stand than kneel.

So, what else do I have to say? Well, I guess…

HAPPY 2009!

Be careful with the fireworks, don’t drink too much, and just watch your back. You never know who’s behind you 😉

Signed,

Aki

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Milius on January 6, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    Hey mate. Your doing a great job at officering it up so far!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

